Author Topic: Freshly rebuilt quadrajet flooding from top of carb  (Read 17106 times)

Offline Tarrcamp92

• Garage guy
Freshly rebuilt quadrajet flooding from top of carb
« on: April 09, 2015, 10:55:03 PM »
Hi there. I'm pretty new at the carb stuff, so I just recently got my carb rebuilt put it on fired the car up started no problem but as soon as the car starts to run fuel starts spraying from the top of the carb and the car stalls, from what I've been reading I'm guessing the float is being the problem? Just wondering if anyone knows why it's doing that and what can I do to fix it?  Thanks

Offline Cliff Ruggles

• Administrator
  • Qjet Hero
Re: Freshly rebuilt quadrajet flooding from top of carb
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2015, 03:37:25 AM »
Float not holding down the needle or leak at the needle, or under the fuel inlet seat. 

The upper portion of the hinge pin can get bent down and not keep the float in it's correct geometry.

Could also be a piece of debris stuck under the needle.

I've also seen scenarios where the carb will flood when the bowl fills up quickly and the incoming fuel holds the float down and woln't allow it to seat the needle.  Usually you can just shut off the engine and wait a moment, then re-fire it and all will be fine.

The float and needle/seat set-up in the q-jet is a very simple design, and seldom gives troubles unless the float setting is incorrect, fuel pressure too high, or something is stuck under the needle.  In rare cases the float arms may be bent enough to cause the float to "drag" on the sides of the bowl or the arms drag on the PP housing and cause flooding, but this would be pretty rare and should have been caught during the "rebuild"......Cliff

Offline Tarrcamp92

• Garage guy
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2015, 08:40:36 AM »
Okay I will look into that thanks for the help!

Offline daveqjet

• Garage guy
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2015, 11:51:25 PM »