Author Topic: New guy with fuel issue  (Read 1109 times)

Offline Handyman57

• Garage guy
New guy with fuel issue
« on: August 22, 2023, 09:46:37 AM »
New guy here so don't beat me up too bad ,lol !!
Have a 327 with a rebuilt (not by me )#7029223 Qjet that seems to be loading up and bogs and hesitates on WOT. Just noticed both  gaskets wet and saturated in fuel. Going to check fuel pressure ( stock mechanical pump) tonight. Any other things I should check ? Again , I'm new to carb building and issues but I'm wanting to learn . Thanks

Offline Cliff Ruggles

• Administrator
  • Qjet Hero
Re: New guy with fuel issue
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2023, 04:09:37 PM »
Loading up and bogging are two separate issues.  Wet gaskets another. 

What have you done to the carb so far?

Offline Handyman57

• Garage guy
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2023, 04:56:40 PM »
I purchased the carb already rebuilt. My friend helped me adjust it when we first got the car running. Seemed to run fine for normal driving, but after a few WOT runs started hesitating at higher rpms , and then from a stop to WOT started bogging . Then seems to load up and not want to stay running and sometimes dies,and hard to restart. I smelled fuel and found the baseplate and top gasket soaked in fuel. I haven't driven since. Sorry,  Don't know any details on the rebuild.

Offline Handyman57

• Garage guy
« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2023, 10:14:38 AM »
Sorry, not much info. I hate not knowing what was actually done or what's inside. Would like to tear it down to find out this winter .

Offline Cliff Ruggles

• Administrator
  • Qjet Hero
« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2023, 02:03:37 AM »
Being "rebuilt" typically means it will be worse than if it were left alone. 

Most likely it got a cheap POS rebuild kit from a parts store or on-line source which never works out well.  We also don't know the skill level of the person installing the kit.