Author Topic: Best way to add a fuel return line  (Read 1269 times)

Offline Handyman57

• Garage guy
Best way to add a fuel return line
« on: August 31, 2023, 06:25:17 PM »
I have a 57 Chevy with a 327 , mechanical fuel pump with no return line. Had a vapor lock issue a few times and been told a return line will help. Also planning on adding a fuel pressure regulator.
What would be the best way to add a return line ?  New pump with return, regulator with return, or ??

Offline Cliff Ruggles

• Administrator
  • Qjet Hero
Re: Best way to add a fuel return line
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2023, 03:39:40 AM »
"Vapor Lock" is a term I have never fully understood and I do this for a living. 

What negative symptoms did you experience a few times?

Offline Handyman57

• Garage guy
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2023, 05:06:59 PM »
First time out drag racing at the Trifive Nationals Jr stock . Problems got worse in the afternoon temps around 90. Car didn't want to go off the line , then didn't want to accelerate thru the run. Back to the pits would start stumbling and die and not restart till it cooled off. Engine temp 180 up to 210 plus by the time got back to pits. Seem to run fine cooler temps in the mornings, but somewhat hard to start after warmed up. Running pump gas .stock Mechanical Fuel pump, line in stock location, very close to rad hose and block.

Offline Jeff K

• Garage guy
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2023, 06:10:33 AM »
I always used the 63-64 Pontiac 421 fuel filter. Make sure the two filtered outlets are 3/8" and the fuel return line is 1/4"...

I always took the term "Vapor Lock" as when the metal parts containing the gasoline becoming so hot that they cause the fuel inside them to boil and/or expand to a point were they loose there ability to burn.

Offline Jeff K

• Garage guy
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2023, 04:05:53 AM »