Author Topic: Idle air bypass?  (Read 4293 times)

Offline 72turbojet

Idle air bypass?
« on: March 28, 2016, 07:40:15 PM »
I installed a rebuild quadrajet on my 402 and am trying to solve a rich idle problem. The carb was built for a stock big block and I have been going through the steps to tune it for my motor which has a mild cam and intake. I've replaced the power piston spring and maxed out the timing. The float level looks good and I have a fuel pressure regulator set at 5 psi yet still a rich idle. It idles highest with the mixture screws turned all the way in. I've done some more research and I'm thinking I need to enlarge the idle air bypass ports so can someone please explain where these holes are located and how I'd go about drilling them out. Any other possible ideas are welcome since I'm new to these carbs and really want to get this thing to work for me.
 Thanks

Offline Cliff Ruggles

• Administrator
  • Qjet Hero
Re: Idle air bypass?
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2016, 01:29:25 AM »
What is the carburetor number.

What are the engine specifications?

What has been done to the carburetor (how is it set-up).....Cliff

Offline 72turbojet

« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2016, 10:39:02 AM »
The carb number is 17085292.

The engine I'm almost certain has stock 8.5:1 compression heads, headers, an edlebrock aluminum intake manifold, and an edlebrock cam 300/306, 240/246 @ .05, .560/.573, 112 LSA.

The carb was supposed to be built to stock specifications. The only thing I changed so far was the power piston spring because with my cam it was extremely rich with the stock spring.

Offline bry593

• Carb lover
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2016, 10:59:07 AM »