Author Topic: Help Please  (Read 2146 times)

Offline pete0186

• Garage guy
Help Please
« on: September 27, 2017, 11:43:55 PM »
Hi I'm new to quadrajets and pulling my hair out
I have bought off Ebay a 17059553 and fitted it to a 69 corvette. Things went relatively well except it ran very rich and leaked fuel from the air horn gasket. When I took it apart I found the body and air horn warped which I was able to straighten otherwise in very good condition. The jets were a miss-match of 71 and 70 with home ground needles. So I bought Cliffs book and set to work
I found the specs of the carburettor (best as I could measure) matched Cliffs recipe 1 except for the jets and needles and the description of the engine in Cliff's recipe was spot on for what's in the corvette. I set the ATP screw as per Lar's quickie method due to the home ground screws and installed the below needles and jets.  Things going well right, not so much.
 It backfires through the carb and lack performance. I set ATP for the best I could get the car to run which seems to be a long way out from the starting point. Could someone advise if I'm even close with jets and rods or will this type of carb ever work   
What I installed
prim rod 50
Jets 73
sec rod CK
Hanger K
Engine
350CID  mild cam, headers, 300Hp iron manifold, auto trans, standard converter, standard gears

Any help will be greatly appreciated       

Offline pete0186

• Garage guy
Re: Help Please
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2017, 11:54:07 PM »
one other thing sea level, if it make a difference 

Offline Cliff Ruggles

• Administrator
  • Qjet Hero
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2017, 04:12:33 AM »
Tell me more about the 1969 Corvette' engine, CID, compression ratio, head castings, camshaft, etc, etc?

BIG flags go up from an Ebay purchase then finding it's a crap shoot internally.