Author Topic: first timer don't want to break my first carb  (Read 3058 times)

Offline David89k

• Garage guy
first timer don't want to break my first carb
« on: December 09, 2017, 10:17:08 PM »
Hello all, I'm new to the world of carberation. I just bought a 78 k25 and installed a new manual fuel pump and couldn't get it to prime. I rigged and hund a fuel supply and managed to get the truck to start. So here's the problem the truck will only run on idel. I have to use starter fluid for it to start doesn't matter how many times I pump the pedel. Second problem if I rev the truck it will to a point if I go slow and when I come back to idel I will just die I even tried turning up the idel. I tried you tube but I don't know where to start. U think I'm missing parts for the choke and secondary. would appreciate any help I've dreamed of owning this truck sense childhood. Almost forgot I have no idea what vacuum line goes where they were not hooked up when I got the truck
« Last Edit: December 09, 2017, 10:32:43 PM by David89k »

Offline Cliff Ruggles

• Administrator
  • Qjet Hero
Re: first timer don't want to break my first carb
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2017, 03:15:11 AM »
What is the carburetor part number?

Some under the hood pics of your set-up would also help if you have the ability to put them up here......Cliff

Offline David89k

• Garage guy
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2017, 09:05:29 AM »
4mv This is the model of my qjet if you need other information please let me know where it is so I can also learn what to look for. I can't upload pics I keep getting an error saying file size to large.

Offline David89k

• Garage guy
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2017, 09:11:59 AM »
More Pics coming

Offline Cliff Ruggles

• Administrator
  • Qjet Hero
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2017, 05:45:06 AM »
What is the part number?

It is located drivers side of the main casting just above the secondary throttle shaft.