Author Topic: vacuum break control  (Read 1690 times)

Offline Vics63

vacuum break control
« on: May 30, 2020, 01:36:28 PM »
I'm new at dealing with a Quadrajet although I have 2 different cars with them. My question is when the car is idling the ported vacuum pulls the break and prevents the secondary air flaps from opening. When I go to wide open throttle the break does not release and the secondary air flaps can not open. Does or rather should ported vacuum diminish with more throttle?

Offline 77cruiser

• Qjet Hero
Re: vacuum break control
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2020, 08:03:54 PM »
Never saw one with ported vac. to the pulloff, but either way the vac. drops at WOT.
Jim

Offline Vics63

« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2020, 10:53:16 PM »
Thanks for the response. Just trying to learn something here. Where does the vacuum typically come from? Ive got 2 different cars with Quadrajets. They both have ported vacuum to the pull off. One is a 71 bone stock car. Pretty sure that's the way it came. Vacuum drops briefly at wot but not enough for the break to release the secondary flaps . Other one does not change vacuum at WOT. I meant to get a picture but....... I'll do it tomorrow. 
Or, is it possible it wont work sitting and not under a load? This is in the garage and not moving.
« Last Edit: May 30, 2020, 11:03:57 PM by Vics63 »

Offline Cliff Ruggles

• Administrator
  • Qjet Hero
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2020, 03:04:22 AM »
All Q-jets use manifold vacuum to the choke pull-off,  not ported.

Ported vacuum would not work to apply a choke pull-off as there is next to zero vacuum on a well located ported source at idle.

Both ported and manifold vacuum fall off to nearly zero at heavy and WOT.

The choke pull-off uses a link up to the secondaries to keep the flaps from "whipping" open too quickly and causing a lean conditions.  Some pull-offs being sold these days are WAY to quick for opening rate as they have little or no restriction in them.