Author Topic: Primary metering rod selection for recipe 2  (Read 913 times)

Offline Nko

• Garage guy
Primary metering rod selection for recipe 2
« on: November 11, 2021, 12:36:53 PM »
Hi, this is my first time messing with a carb. I think that my engine will be somewhere between recipe #2 and #3 so I am starting with Recipe #2. My question is for the primary metering rod- for APT carbs use a tapered rod at least .029" less than the main jet at the widest point. If I am using a 74 jet then I need a rod that is at least .045" But the double asterisk says for single main air bleed carbs use 50, 52, or 54M rods. If I use a 50 it would only be .024" smaller. What rod should I go with? The rod that was in the carb has a .026 power tip. and measures .049 at the largest part of the taper. I appreciate any help.

carb # 17081206
Idle Tube .039
Idle DCR .052
Idle air bleed upper .070
lower .080
Idle bypass air .080
Mixture screw hole .097
Fuel inlet .130
Sec Tube res. .032
Sec POE Well .038
Sec POE Res .051
Secondary hanger P
Single Main air bleed(horn) .085

Offline Cliff Ruggles

• Administrator
  • Qjet Hero
Re: Primary metering rod selection for recipe 2
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2021, 01:13:29 PM »
That carburetor uses "M" series primary metering rods.  M rods have .010" taper on the upper section and .036" tips.  So a 50M tapers from .050" to .040" on the upper section, then "steps" to .036"

We make a full tapered rod for them that tapers from .050" down to .036" if you want more control with the APT system.

I would also get one of my rebuild kits for it.  It will come with the correct SOLID fuel inlet seat, and complete accl pump assembly with a USA made pump cup (lifetime warranty) instead of the "soft" imported pump cups others are using......Cliff

Offline Nko

• Garage guy
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2021, 08:15:26 PM »
Thanks for the response. So I need the M rods, check.