Author Topic: Contemplating Pontiac 7042262 Rebuild  (Read 954 times)

Offline SoonerD

Contemplating Pontiac 7042262 Rebuild
« on: April 04, 2023, 07:35:35 AM »
Newbie here and first post.  I have had a 1972 Pontiac Quadrajet #7042262 for about 24 years sitting in a box that I acquired which I have never used.  I have a ’71 Pontiac 455 out of a GTO that I plan on rebuilding someday and using it on.  I plan on using a factory Ram Air IV (041) cam with Rhoads lifters.  The block is currently a standard bore and will likely need to go at least .010” over and possibly .030” over.  I have an original Edelbrock Torker manifold that I got when I bought the motor.  At some point I will need a ’69 or ’70 GTO to put it in though and I plan on utilizing a manual transmission.    ;D

I was thinking of getting some exercise in and rebuild the carb.  I noticed that the previous owner has either removed or modified a couple of things on the carb and I want to bring it back to original condition with the following questions.

First, looking at the attached pictures, the top riser opening on the float bowl cover above the fuel inlet appears to have been cut down and doesn’t stick up as high as it should.  Is this top cover a readily available part so I can replace it?

Second, the vacuum diaphragm (pull off) is missing and the primary lever mechanism has been modified.  Maybe this was removed intentionally….who knows but it looks like it since it has a weld and appears to have had a grinder used on it.  Is it feasible to correct the lever mechanism and bring back to original?  I know I can get a replacement vacuum pull off assembly with linkage, but the lever arrangement has me concerned.